Meryam Sahin (talk | contribs)
Created page with "<bookshelf src="Book:User manual" /> {{DISPLAYTITLE:Delete pages}} Users with edit rights can delete wiki pages. If a page is deleted, it can no longer be found using the search function. However, users with admin rights have the option to restore a deleted page. ==How to delete a page?== To delete the page, click '' Actions > Delete '' in the page tools.<br /> File:löschen-dialog-EN.png|alt=Deleting a page|center|t..."
 
Meryam Sahin (talk | contribs)
No edit summary
 
(4 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
<bookshelf src="Book:User manual" />
<status color="green" light="true">done</status> <br>
{{DISPLAYTITLE:Delete pages}}
Editors can delete wiki pages. Deleted pages are no longer available in search results. Administrators can restore deleted pages.
 
==Delete a page==  
Users with edit rights can delete wiki pages. If a page is deleted, it can no longer be found using the search function. However, users with admin rights have the option to restore a deleted page.  
'''To delete a page''':
 
#Open a page.
==How to delete a page?==  
#Open '''More page actions''' and select '''Delete'''.
To delete the page, click '' Actions > Delete '' in the [[Manual:Extension/BlueSpiceDiscovery#Page too|page tools]].<br />
#In the deletion dialog, review the available options and select or clear them as needed.
[[File:löschen-dialog-EN.png|alt=Deleting a page|center|thumb|650x650px|Deleting a page]]
#Confirm deletion. <br>
 
The following options are available in the deletion log. All of them are optional:
Before deleting the page, you can:
*'''Reason''': Enter a reason for deleting a page.
*Check the version history.
*'''Other/additional areason''': Provide additional information about the deletion.
*Check which pages link to this page
*'''Watch this page''': Selected by default. Keeps the page on your watchlist.
*Indicate the reason for the deletion: Since deleting a page can raise questions from other users, it makes sense to leave a short explanation here. This text is shown accordingly in the deletion log.
*'''Delete subpages''': Selected by default. Deletes the page's subpages along with the page.  
*Watch the page: If the page is restored by another user, you can receive a notification.
[[File:delete-page-dialog.png|alt=Deletion dialog with options for deleting a page|center|thumb|650x650px|Deletion dialog]]
 
==Identify pages for deletion==
==Mass-deleting pages==
Before deleting a page, check whether deletion is the appropriate action. The following <code>Special:SpecialPages</code> can help identify pages that may need to be reviewed:
Admin users can mass-delete recently added pages from the special page <code>Special:Nuke</code>.
*<code>Special:ShortPages</code>: Lists short pages that may contain little relevant content or content that may be better integrated into another page.
==Which pages should be deleted?==
*<code>Special:LonelyPages</code> ('''Orphaned pages'''): Lists pages that have no links to them from other pages.
You can use some pages under <code>Special:SpecialPages</code> to find candidates for deletion:  
*<code>Special:NewPages</code>: Lists recently created pages and can help identify unwanted or spam content. <br>
 
Before deletion, also review the page [[Version history|version history]] and check which [[Rename_and_move_pages#Before_moving_a_page|pages link to the page]].
*<code>Special:ShortPages</code>: With short pages it can be expected that the content of the article is not relevant enough or is better dealt with as a paragraph in another article.
==Find and restore deleted pages==
*<code>Special:LonelyPages</code>: Orphaned pages are characterized by a lack of transclusions or links to the page.
Deleted pages can be found in the deletion log. To open the deletion log:
*<code>Special:NewPages</code>: Reviewing recently added pages is useful, for example, to detect spam in public wikis.
#Open <code>Special:Log</code>.  
 
#Select '''Deletion log'''. <br>
==Where do I find information about deleted pages?==
Administrators can restore deleted pages from the deletion log. <br>
 
A deleted page can also be restored from a redlink to the page. Select the redlink and use the available restore option. <br>
*<code>Special:Log/delete</code>: Search for and restore deleted pages.
Administrators can view deleted contributions for a specific user or IP address on <code>Special:DeletedContributions</code>.
*<code>Special:DeletedContributions</code>: Search for deleted posts of a specific user (or an IP address).
==Alternatives to deleting a page==
 
Deletion is not always the best solution. Consider the following alternatives:  
==Recover deleted pages==
*'''Move''': Move the page if the page title is incorrect.  
Deleted pages can be restored using the  ''Delete'' log which can be accessed from the page ''Special:SpecialPages''. If the deleted page was linked to other wiki pages, the page can be restored directly via the redlink on that page.  
*'''Copy''': Copy the content to another page if the content belongs under a different page title.
 
*'''Redirect''': Create a redirect if the content is already available on another page.  
==Which pages shouldn't be deleted?==  
==Mass delete pages==
There are often more sensible alternatives for deleting:  
Administrators can mass-delete recently created pages using the special page <code>Special:Nuke</code>, titled '''Mass delete'''.
 
*'''[[Manual:Rename and move pages|Move:]]''' If a page has an incorrect or incorrect title, the page can be moved.
*'''Copy:''' If the content does not match the page title, the content can be copied to another page
*'''[[Manual:Redirects|Redirect:]]''' If the page content already exists on another page, the duplicate content can be deleted and a redirect can be created.
*'''[[Manual:Extension/BlueSpiceExpiry |Obsolete:]]''' The content is no longer current. You can mark the page as out of date and other wiki users can update the page later.
 
<br />{{Box_Links-en | Topic1 =[[Reference:Nuke|Nuke]]: Extension for mass-deleting pages (for administators) | Topic2 = [[Manual:Redirects|Redirects]] | Topic3 =[[Manual:Extension/BlueSpiceUserManager|Deleting user accounts]] | Thema4 = }}
 
[[en:{{FULLPAGENAME}}]]
[[de:Handbuch:Artikel Löschen]]
[[Category:Editing]]

Latest revision as of 07:32, 20 August 2026

done
Editors can delete wiki pages. Deleted pages are no longer available in search results. Administrators can restore deleted pages.

Delete a page

To delete a page:

  1. Open a page.
  2. Open More page actions and select Delete.
  3. In the deletion dialog, review the available options and select or clear them as needed.
  4. Confirm deletion.

The following options are available in the deletion log. All of them are optional:

  • Reason: Enter a reason for deleting a page.
  • Other/additional areason: Provide additional information about the deletion.
  • Watch this page: Selected by default. Keeps the page on your watchlist.
  • Delete subpages: Selected by default. Deletes the page's subpages along with the page.
Deletion dialog with options for deleting a page
Deletion dialog

Identify pages for deletion

Before deleting a page, check whether deletion is the appropriate action. The following Special:SpecialPages can help identify pages that may need to be reviewed:

  • Special:ShortPages: Lists short pages that may contain little relevant content or content that may be better integrated into another page.
  • Special:LonelyPages (Orphaned pages): Lists pages that have no links to them from other pages.
  • Special:NewPages: Lists recently created pages and can help identify unwanted or spam content.

Before deletion, also review the page version history and check which pages link to the page.

Find and restore deleted pages

Deleted pages can be found in the deletion log. To open the deletion log:

  1. Open Special:Log.
  2. Select Deletion log.

Administrators can restore deleted pages from the deletion log.
A deleted page can also be restored from a redlink to the page. Select the redlink and use the available restore option.
Administrators can view deleted contributions for a specific user or IP address on Special:DeletedContributions.

Alternatives to deleting a page

Deletion is not always the best solution. Consider the following alternatives:

  • Move: Move the page if the page title is incorrect.
  • Copy: Copy the content to another page if the content belongs under a different page title.
  • Redirect: Create a redirect if the content is already available on another page.

Mass delete pages

Administrators can mass-delete recently created pages using the special page Special:Nuke, titled Mass delete.